Seth MacFarlane Won’t Host Oscars Again

Seth MacFarlane onstage during the 2013 Oscar ceremony.

Seth MacFarlane onstage during the 2013 Oscar ceremony.

The Family Guy funnyman, who stirred up controversy during his hosting job at the 2013 Oscars ceremony, has confirmed that he will not be involved again next year.

MacFarlane tweeted the following on Monday: “Traumatized critics exhale: I’m unable to do the Oscars again. Tried to make it work schedule-wise, but I need sleep. However, I highly recommend the job, as [executive producers Craig] Zadan and [Neil] Meron are two of the most talented producers in the business. My suggestion for host is Joaquin Phoenix.”

MaFarlane drew the ire of many during his hosting gig, during which he performed a purposefully tasteless musical number titled “We Saw Your Boobs” and made some racy jokes, a few of which I’ll feature below.

Django Unchained. This is the story of a man fighting to get back his woman, who’s been subjected to unthinkable violence–or as Chris Brown and Rihanna call it, ‘a date movie.’ … A lot of controversies over the use of the n-word in the film. I’m told apparently the screenplay is loosely based on Mel Gibson‘s voicemails.”

“Ben Affleck–this man has gone from starring in Gigli to becoming one of the most respected filmmakers of this generation. I feel like we’re six months away from having to call him Benjamin Affleck. The first time I saw him with all that dark facial hair, I thought, My God, the Kardashians have finally made the jump to film.”

“Quvenzhané Wallis is the youngest Best Actress nominee ever. Let me just address those of you up for an award: so you got nominated for an Oscar—something a 9-year-old could do. She’s adorable. She said to me backstage, ‘I really hope I don’t lose to that old lady, Jennifer Lawrence.’ To give you an idea of just how young [Wallis] is, it will be 16 years before she’s too old for [George] Clooney.”

Photo Courtesy: Salon.

Leave a Reply

